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Construction Contractor Registration Law Changed 
 
DES MOINES – The size and scope of the project doesn’t matter, hiring a construction contractor 
can be a daunting task.  Hiring an unregistered contractor can lead to problems.  As of July 1st, 
construction contractors making $2,000 a year or more must register and renew the registration 
every two years.  This is a change from the previous $1,000 a year requirement.   Additionally, self-
employed contractors who do not pay individuals more than $2,000 a year may still be required to 
register, however may be exempt from the registration fee.  “Requiring contractors to register with 
the State, helps to ensure they are meeting the laws, providing workers’ compensation coverage and 
paying unemployment taxes on their employees,“ indicated Interim Labor Commissioner Steve 
Slater, “Iowans have the option of searching the registration database to ensure their chosen 
contractor is meeting the requirements of the law.” 
 
Beyond providing information on Iowa’s construction contractors in the database, the registration 
process provides a number of additional benefits to the state of Iowa.  When contractors submit their 
registration information, the process seamlessly verifies that the individual contractor or business 
has properly secured workers’ compensation insurance on their employees and has paid the 
required unemployment insurance taxes.  Employers who circumvent the system by not providing 
workers’ compensation insurance and by not paying the required taxes cost pass the costs onto 
other Iowa businesses. 
 
Additionally, the contractor registration process ensures that out-of-state contractors follow the 
required bonding procedures to work in the state.  This levels the playing field for Iowa companies, 
ensuring that an out-of-state contractor does not side-step the law in order to low-bid a contract.   
 
All contractors who do not register are subject to a citation up to $500 and contractors who 
repeatedly fail to register are subject to a citation up to $5,000. 
 
For more information on Iowa’s Contractor Registration requirements, call (515) 242-5871 or access 
www.iowaworkforce.org/labor/contractor.htm.  
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